Chennai Blues

July 14, 2011

I am leaving Chennai in a few weeks. Leaving to a totally new land. Leaving behind 21 years of my life here. There is so much I am going to miss, but there is also so much that is awaiting me at the other end of the world. I am nervous, excited, nostalgic, sentimental, bouncy and hyper all at the same time.

I will miss my filter kaapi in the mornings. I will miss shouting for it the moment I wake up. I will miss being offered steaming hot brown kaapi right into my hands.

I will miss wearing sarees at weddings. I will miss the flowers I occasionally wear with my plait.

I will miss roaming around the city with my friends. I will miss being teased by them. I will miss all the gossip and the egos.

I will miss West Mambalam, though it is not my home. If some place in Chennai could symbolize me, then it has to be this place. Tam-Brahm Mami’s and jeans clad teens.

I will miss reading Harry Potter and Roald Dahl with my sister. I will miss irritating her when she plays Snake on the phone.

Sometimes I wish I never had to leave. I could take up a job in Chennai, get married, settle down here near Mom and Dad…and live happily ever after.

15 Responses to “Chennai Blues”

  1. DD said

    Good luck with everything Lady! πŸ™‚ Don’t you stop writing though! πŸ™‚

  2. Lady Kedi said

    Thank you so much DD!

  3. Aahhh!! Nice post… I ve been there.. You ll be fine until the next time u visit Chennai! πŸ™‚

  4. ouch…

    ~why so senti…
    ~missing the sarcasm 😐

  5. Saravanan said

    All the Best…See you soon!!!

  6. Lady Kedi said

    @Vivek Pandian I can’t possibly always be sarcastic no? I myself am getting bored of my sarcasm =D

    @Saravanan Thank you!

  7. Arunkarthik said

    “Inga iruku America”!
    All the best!

    • Lady Kedi said

      Ha ha. Varanam Aayiram? Lets just hope a super cute guy who plays the guitar shows up on my doorstep. But wait, I don’t know any super cute guys. Free.

  8. Sastha said

    Wish you the very best Lady! Let it be an adventure and enjoy. Keep writing. πŸ™‚

  9. indri90@gmail.com said

    All the best πŸ™‚ Enjoy to the core !!

  10. vijay03 said

    “Sometimes I wish I never had to leave. I could take up a job in Chennai, get married, settle down here near Mom and Dad…and live happily ever after.”

    Almost exactly what I felt when I had to leave Chennai for education! Spot on.

    All the best!

  11. Sindhuja Venkatesh said

    I SECOND IT !!! :X

  12. Ragha said

    I miss filter kaapi and Ahobilam matham skool gals πŸ˜₯

  13. Balaji said

    I had to leave Chennai too and I miss all the things – except Harry Potter – you mentioned. And really, coffee in North America sucks. Nothing to beat frothy filter kappi.

Leave a Reply

